Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-12-07

Here is a catch 22: I hate a dirty kitchen and I hate to clean it.


Last night I threw a bit of a hissy fit because it seems like I�m constantly cleaning the kitchen. I don�t know how that is possible with only 2 � people living here, but it is. There always seems to be stuff piled on the counters, dishes in the sink, goop smeared on the stove and crumbs on the floor even though I just spent an hour cleaning it up. I swear we have trolls that are watching me from underneath the cabinets and just laughing their little dirty butts off!!

I�ve also noticed lately that even though my house is clean, I let little things pile up to do later, like hanging up my coat, shoes by the door and not in the closet, glasses and misc dishes on the counter instead of directly into the dishwasher. It�s just my procrastinating ways but I�m getting sick of it. So I have a new motto and a new year�s resolution that I�m starting early:

A little at a time saves time.

Starting today I�m going to start picking up after myself, that way I don�t have to spend a huge chunk of time cleaning up big piles. I know this will be hard for me to do and I�ll need to force myself to just take the 30 seconds it takes to do it and get it done, and hopefully it will become a habit. And imagine if D grew up in that environment�! Always picking up after himself, putting his things away when he�s done with them, that would be great!! (OK, maybe I�m dreaming with that one!)

I�m off to start dinner: Mac and cheese, hotdogs and corn! I know, terrible, but comfort food usually is. On a cold and gray day like today it just sounded good. But, I did walk a mile today and eat an orange for a snack, so I�m not all bad! :)