Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-03-11

I'm so sick.

Earlier this week a patient coughed on me as I was drawing their blood. I got it right in the face. It happens all the time and usually nothing happens.

This time it did!

Tuesday I had a sore throat on the left side and later the whole thing was on fire. By last night I had horrible congestion and today I'm feeling like total crap. Stuffy nose, firey throat, headache, swollen glands, chilly and the works. And I'm bummed because it is so beautiful out and I wanted to wash the cars in the sunshine.

Grrrr!

How do you tell someone to turn their head when they cough? Or how about when they are so congested that they can only breathe out their mouth and they aim their nasty germy breath right on your face? I don't want to be a b*tch and seem like an uncaring creep, but I want to say, "for pete's sake turn your head, yucky patient!!!"

Well, it's probably a virus since it doesn't feel like a cold and I'm sure it's not the flu, so I know what to do: rest and drink lots of fluids.

And win the lottery so that I don't have to breathe in anymore germs!