Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-06-02

After 10 days in the hospital on strict bedrest, my son was born on May 29, 2004. He weighed 2 lbs 12 oz and is 14.5 inches long. He is the most beautiful sight my eyes have ever seen. I am so totally in love with him it's unbelievable!

He will need to stay in the hospital for about 8 weeks and that has been so hard. The hospital is about an hour plus away and it's so hard to leave him at the end of the day.

They say he's doing very well and he seems like he is, even though he's got wires all attatched to him. He's breating on his own and that is one of the biggest challanges that premees have. Now he just has to grow.

We got to hold him today for the first time and how I never wanted to let him go! He opened his eyes and tried to focus on us, looking around at who was talking. The nurse went on and on about how smart he is (of course!) and how beautiful of a baby he is (of course!). I'm sure she says that to all the parents, but it's still nice to hear!

I never thought I could love someone as much as I love him. It is so overwhelming at times. I worry about him so much, how he's doing, how his care is, if he going to be alright. I worry because I love him so much and I can't wait until the day he comes home with us to stay.

Welcome to our family, sweet baby D. We will charish you always!