Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-06-04

My little one is doing better and better every day. My heart is swooning!

We got to hold him again yesterday. I get to change his diaper, and take his temperature, and clean him up. E got to put food down his food line and put vaseline on his lips. D kind of puckered them out and I told E that I thought he was enjoying lip-gloss a little too much! It was so cute! E held him for a long time while I was pumping and I would look over at them and be amazed that sitting there was my family! We are so blessed to have him.

He seems to be improving by leaps and bounds. They had an oxygen line on him just blowing room air in his nose as a reminder to breath, they took it out and he�s been without is since yesterday. He�s had a few apnea episodes, but not anything unusual. I have to remember that in this stage in life, he is not supposed to be breathing. They also had a light on him to help his jaundice, and as of today he is off that as well. Yesterday he gained 5 oz (after losing 6 in his first two days of life) and they put him in an isolette, instead of an open bed, which means he has fewer wires attached to him! And they are increasing his food intake because his stomach is settling down and able to keep what he was being fed in.

One thing is that they were supposed to do an ultrasound on his brain to check for bleeding, but somehow, it got overlooked and now we may have to wait until Monday for it to get done. I�m sure he�s just fine, but of course, I can�t help but worry!

I�m trying to remain positive!!!

On the weight front, I was 218 yesterday morning. Only 14 pounds gained during pregnancy. But my ankles got so swollen after birth. They look like huge tree trunks. Well, today they actually look better, thank goodness! I�ve always had dainty ankles and now I hope they are coming back to stay!

I want to start losing weight again and this time add exercise, but I know that I need to wait to exercise due to my emergency c-section. (I�ll write about that some other time. I still can�t believe I had one!) Being on bed rest left my body weak and I would like to build it up!

Today I will pick E up after work and go see my little boy! *sigh* I�m so in love!!