Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-10-05

My meal times are pretty boring these days.

I love to curl up on the couch, in front of the TV with a big ol' mound of food, or even sit in front of the computer and munch on a snack or two, but lately I have not allowed myself to do either of those things. I sit at the dining room table and eat every meal there. I eat breakfast and lunch alone because E is at work. I don't allow myself to read a book or magazine. And with the TV being in the TV room, I can only hear it if it's loud enough.

Oh and I also don't stand in the kitchen and eat from the fridge, I actually make up a plate.

By doing all this it has made eating more of a chore than fun. But it has also made me very aware of what I'm eating and how I feel when I eat. I noticed today that I got full fast and since I felt full I didn't force myself to finish my bowl of soup. I got up, covered it and put it away. I don't think I've ever done that before.;)

I also put the scale away today. I wanted to jump on it every hour, which doesn't make sense, everyone knows that you'll weigh heavier in the afternoon and that is a terrible head game to play. So I put it under the hard-to-get-into cabinet and when I go to get it out I'll have to wedge myself beside the toilet to get it. I don't want to weigh myself until October 15th. I just happened to pick that date out of my head and I see that it's 10 days away. So no weigh in for 10 days.

Here's something interesting if you want to curb your going out to eat habit: Look up your local county's restaurant inspection. In most counties it's published online.

We found out that our favorite steakhouse had cockroaches. COCKROACHES!! We have always loved that place! We've celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries there. Well, no more. Here is a couple of excerpts from the reports:

"The restaurant was treated for the cockroach problem about three days ago, live roaches still present. Will re-inspect to check effectiveness of extermination within 2 weeks."

"Found many dead cockroaches in restaurant, please make it a priority to remove them several times a day until infestation is taken care of."

(ewww!)

and six months later...

"No cockroaches seen during todays inspection. Please keep up sanitation practices and keep log of any bug sightings."

Well, I'm glad that they got rid of the problem, but I don't know if I'll be going back any time soon. (I'm sure all the peanut shells on the floor is a real attractant for pests). And if I ever do go back there do you think it would be rude of me to ask to see the "bug sightings log book"?

Happy Tuesday!