Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-07-06

I just came in from a 30 minute walk. I feel pretty good.

Let me start out by saying pumping milk is no fun. It's a pain in the ass to constantly stop what I'm doing every 3 hours and take an 1/2 hour chunk to get it done. Take Sunday for instance. We wanted to start to paint the baby's room and we had a barbque to go to at the neighbors:

Pump, clean parts.

Get painting stuff together, lay tarps and paper, paint trim

Pump, clean parts.

Paint walls, clean brushes and rollers.

Pump, clean parts.

Make spinach dip, go over and meet neighbors' family. Eat some wonderful steak.

Go home, pump, clean parts.

Ect, ect for the rest of the day.

Taking that time out is a pain, but it has to be done. I know in my heart that my milk is WAY better than any formula out there.

The point is that exercise is a pain in the ass too. You have to get up, find something to wear, track down your shoes, watch, keys and (for me) phone, just in case you witness a crime or something. But exercise is something that needs to be done. You have to just get yourself together and do it without putting too much thought which can lead to dread and never getting it done. And I know in my heart that it is WAY better for me than sitting on my butt!

Goals:

I've put together some goals that will start me out on my weightloss journey:

Keep calories at 2500. That sounds like a lot, but I've been reading that a nursing mother needs about 2700 calories. Geez, it does sound like a lot!

Exercise for 30 minutes a day, 4 times a week. I havn't excercised in forever, so hopefully this will be a good start.

NO procrastination!!! For me, this leads to binge eating. When something needs to be done, do it, DO NOT go into the kitchen and make something to eat for "energy"!!

I would like to be under 200 lbs by Aug 1st. (Oh my gosh, I havn't been under 200 since I was a sophmore in high school!!)

My long term goal is to be 170 lbs by New Year's day. That is about 1.5 lbs per week. That sounds like a slow, easy goal. We'll see.

These are just starter goals. They may change or be added to, but hopefully with dedication they will be met.