Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2004-06-10

I have been told that my milk is not coming in like it should. So I have taken a two day break from going into Portland to see D. That is very hard, not seeing my little baby, but the nurses seem to think that it would help me. They�ve noticed that I�ve spent everyday at the hospital, sitting by D, just waiting. But waiting for what? He�s supposed to sleep for 22 hours a day, so it�s not like we can play or hang out. They also told me that it is impossible to recover from a c-section in two days. I need to give my body time to relax and heal. They know I�ve been driving, I�ve let it slip that I was. I wasn�t supposed to drive for two weeks. Oops.

I know that D is in good hands. I keep telling myself that. The nurse said that if we go to see him ever couple of days for now that would be fine. I cried�I feel like a bad mom not seeing my baby everyday. But she said not to feel bad. Some people only show up once or twice a week. Those are the people that they wish would come more often. I should go to see him everyday in a couple of weeks when he�s trying to learn to feed. Until then, I need to work on making more milk. Rest, drinking lots of fluids and eating regularly should help.

So, I�m trying to pump, pump, and pump. Today I�m trying to pump every couple of hours. That is harder than it seems. As soon as I sit down I need to get back up and pump again. I feel like a milk machine.

Tomorrow, we are going to see D. It seems like forever since I�ve held him in my arms and smelled his sweet smell. I can�t wait!!