Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2003-11-28

This was the first Thanksgiving that I ate dinner and was full after one plate of food! I ate whatever I wanted and didn�t feel like over did it. I only ate one appetizer, some herbed brie on a tiny piece of toast. I had a couple small glasses of wine before dinner and a couple of beers after I ate. I didn�t have pie, but I brought some home for today!

So, in all I did ok. Weigh in on both Thursday and today said 204.5. I really wish I could get motivated to lose these last five pounds and be in the 100�s. That would be so great.

My original goal of 175 by the New Year is not going to happen. So, if I can at least be ringing in 2004 under 200 lbs, I will be very happy.

Motivation.

That�s what I need and I can�t seem to find it.

I can tell that my eating habits are better. I don�t really sneak food any more and I feel really great about that. I can also tell my stomach has shrunk. I can�t eat near what I used to be able to and I feel more satisfied now after I eat. I still have a hard time leaving food on my plate, but I�m trying to break that habit.

Yesterday, E and I went to a grocery store to pick up some last minute things and grabbed a bite to eat in their cafeteria. I had a chef salad and E got a chicken strip meal. I can�t believe the portions! First of all, my salad had a container of ranch dressing that was probably about � of a cup! E�s meal was four huge chicken strips, about a pound of jojo�s, and 1 � c of mac and cheese. He ate half and brought the other half home and ate it for a quick leftover dinner today.

It�s crazy to me to think that someone would actually sit down and eat that entire meal in one sitting. I know, at one time I would have done just that. I�m beginning to notice portions more and understand why we are the fattest nation of all. If someone ate that much food three times a day and added soda pops and snacks on top of it, they�d be super huge! I always say that I want to eat �normally� and eat �normal portions�. But do I really? Normal portions these days are too much (think super sized and biggie sized!), and I really don�t want to be eating that much. So from now on we�ll probably just order one thing and split it. Save money and our figures!

Anyways, I�m off to go lay down with my book. I�m so glad it�s only Friday!