Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2003-10-04

I quit with the whole no-carbs diet after two days. Am I beating myself up over it and feeling like a loser? Hell no.

I truly felt horrible on both Tuesday and Wednesday. I thought the first day was all in my head and I figured that maybe if I just toughed it out for two weeks I would feel better eventually. Wednesday I was driving home on the back roads when all of a sudden, it was almost as if I had woken up in the middle of my drive. For about a minute I was disoriented and not sure of where I was or if I had missed my turn. I got home in one piece (thank God!) ate my taco salad, and was in bed at 7:00 for the second day in a row. I was so tired that I couldn�t hold a conversation with E. How sad was that!

I received a gentle reminder in my guest book (thanks, Kaire, I would make you a link, but I don�t know how!) that wanted me to check into the dangers of a no-carb diet, and what I did find out is that your body can run off stored fat, but your brain needs quick fuels such carbohydrate to function properly. I can believe that. I don�t know why the same thing didn�t happen to my friend, but like I told her on Thursday when she found out that I would not be joining her any longer on her no-carb journey �What works for one person, may not work for another.�

Since Thursday, I have felt like my old self. Watch out E, I�m back to talk your ear off!

I also realized that I made a contradictory statement in my journal. I said that I was going to cut out carbs, but then I said that I didn�t want to deprive myself of anything. Hu? I want to lose weight by eating and not cutting anything out. I want to eat like a �normal� person (however that is) and I want to be able to eat whatever I want, whenever I want, I just need to use portion control and common sense. Yes, I can have a donut, but not three, and not one everyday. Yes, I can have a hotdog, but only one and no chips and pop to go along with it. But my main goal is to make sure I get plenty of fresh fruits and veggies, calcium and lean protein. And if I sometimes want something �bad�, then by all means, have it and move on. I think it�s unrealistic to think that I�d never eat fat or carbs ever again in my whole life; a body needs total nutrition. Every part of the calorie is important, you just have to balance them out correctly.

In other news, E and I put an offer on a house today. It took us about 4 hours to get it all together. I am so nervous. I hope we get it! I would talk about it more, but I�m afraid to jinx it.

Weigh in today � 208.5! Yeee Haaaah! I have an old hand written food journal with the weight of 204 on one of the pages. I don�t remember being that light, but I�m going to keep it a record. So 4.5 more pounds and I�ll be in virgin pound territory. Also, in one month, if I�m very, very good and very, very careful I could be in the 100�s. I can not even fathom. It sounds to good to even think of!

Well, off to clean my house and do some laundry. Have a great Sunday. May it be very relaxing!!