Life is a journey, one step at a time.

2003-07-02

Happy Birthday To Me (belated)

Turning 30 is definitely not as bad as so many people said it would be. I heard stories of tears, bouts of depression, and some looking for the meaning of life. To me, the sky has never looked bluer, and my outlook on life is so unusually optimistic, that it is almost frightening.

But, trying to approach food and eating in my new eyes is not any better. In fact, I seem to eat and eat and never really give it a second thought until later when I start counting up my calories and the count is as high as ever. I can�t figure out what is triggering my eating.

It has to change! We don�t have any children yet, but we know that we would like to have a little �us� running around in just a few short years. I worry that I will be a fat pregnant lady. What fun is that? My feet hurt already, and does that mean I�ll have to buy even bigger clothes? I also want my tummy to show. I think pregnant women are so beautiful.

Most importantly, I want my children to eat right. Growing up I had so many issues with food. I had to race to eat my share before it was all gone, my parents used to fight a lot and my mother would calm us kids down with food, and I used to sneak eating from my parents, especially from my dad. My mom would even let us have snack as soon as my dad left for an errand, so long as we hurried when we ate. How sad for a child to have to associate food with so much negativity. I want to be a good example of what healthy living is. I want my children to have a healthy diet and to crave good food. I actually don�t want them to have any food issues at all. Just eat when they are hungry and stop when they are full and focus on just being a kid and having fun.

Maybe that is good advice for me, too.

~j